Make it Monday: flower brooch

My latest make is flower brooch designed by Rachel Lane of The Little Room of Rachell. She designed this brooch especially for the seasonal supplement of Simply Crochet magazine issue 16. I thought that a flower brooch would make a nice gift for Mother’s Day in a couple of weeks time for my Mum (it’s ok I can share this with you as she doesn’t use the internet).

I popped down to the Textile Studio after work on Friday and picked up some yarn. I chose some Drops Alpaca for the lovely colour combination and the fact that it’s sooooo soft.

yarns for flower brooch creative pixie MIM

I’ve never worked with it before but think it’s beautiful and I’d use it again as I have plenty left over.

The pattern was quick to crochet though I did have to use a tiny 2mm hook as the yarn is 4-ply weight (not the recommended DK). I decided not to block the leaves/petals and just let them be curly as I think they’d just go curly after being worn anyway. The flower (in the magazine and on Rachel’s blog) kind of look like a clematis flower, my flower almost looks felted doesn’t it.

finished flower brooch creative pixie MIM

finished flower broochand magazine creative pixie MIM

Well done to Rachel for designing this brooch, I’m looking forward to seeing what else she designs. If you want to crochet this brooch, the magazine is out for the next couple of weeks so grab it while you can.

Jean

6 thoughts on “Make it Monday: flower brooch

  1. I love your flower, it has a wonderful warm cosy look to it and will look stunning as a brooch.
    “Grab it while you can” – I would if I could!!!! it’s going to take a while before it gets all the way down here…..

  2. Very pretty and a lovely present for your Mum and it does look felted, which makes it so charming. Drops Alpaca is a lovely yarn! So soft and squishy!

Leave a Reply

